CEP 810, Week 5: Networked Learning Project, Final Reflection

For the last four weeks, I have been exploring hand lettering and typography using only YouTube videos. Although I was also allowed to use help forums, I wasn’t able to find any to support my learning during this process.  It’s not unusual for me to search for online  video tutorials to learn how to do something  such as how to cut a mango or how to dye my 12 year old daughter’s hair (purple!)  at home.  I often look elsewhere to learn as (blogs, Pinterest, etc.)  and it was challenging to limit myself to YouTube videos.  I found many videos were a “trailer” for an online class and they left me wanting more.  Other videos didn’t include enough information and were only a quick  demonstration.  I missed the ability to interact, ask questions, and get feedback on my work and technique.  Despite these challenges, it is amazing how much I learned from only YouTube videos.  I also appreciated that I could schedule the instruction to fit my own schedule.  Using YouTube videos as a learning resource puts learning on demand and it’s available to you anytime.

I did find a few videos that provided step-by-step processes and offered specific techniques to try.  The videos in general were positive and encouraging –  designed to appeal to the novice.   A theme that surfaced throughout the tutorials was the idea that making mistakes was okay and was a part of the process.  As I mentioned in my last post, Shayda Campbell said, ” The charm of hand lettering is in the imperfections.”  Throughout my learning process, I kept this quote close by.  It was important for me to remind myself that I was learning something new, that I needed to practice, and that perfection was not the goal (nor was it possible).  Below is my final video documenting my hand lettering process to creating the final quote.

In my own second grade classroom, I am always reminding my students that mistakes are a part of the learning process.  I try to create a classroom community and environment where my students feel safe to take risks, make mistakes and have opportunities to reflect on their learning.  This can be challenging because developmentally seven and eight year olds are often perfectionists.  They want to do things just right and they use their erasers a lot.  Some psychologists have even called this “the eraser age.” Second graders are so focused on the final product – what their illustrations or handwriting look like.   They worry about getting their letter formation just right or get frustrated when drawing a nose on their self-portraits.  Second graders can also be very critical of themselves and mistakes aren’t easy for them to accept or admit.

This Networked Learning Project  taught me that, as educators, it is important for us to put ourselves in the role of learner.  We must experience frustration, make mistakes, and reflect so that we can modify our thinking and eventually learn. This is what we expect of our students. Experiencing what it’s like to learn something new and keeping mindful of the challenges will help us relate to our own students as they encounter frustrations and setbacks.  The final product (that my second graders worry most about) is not what is most important.  Instead our time, energy and focus should be spent on the process of learning and how to make it most meaningful.

Leave a comment